My Weight Loss Revolution Part 3

As we talk about this journey of losing 45 pounds in 90 days in Part 1 and Part 2 I mentioned it mainly happened due to a staff competition we had.

I truly think that was a big part of losing weight. Competing with others elevated the motivation I had. It also added some accountability for me.

We were competing as a staff for 90 days and it wasn’t just about weight loss it was also about getting fit and healthy. Some of the things we had to do were:

  • Drink half our body weight in ounces of water daily.
  • Keep a food journal
  • Do a minimum of three 30 minute cardio sessions a week.
  • Participate monthly in a staff organized 5k run/2k walk
  • Participate monthly in an official organized 5k run/2k walk

With the contest we earned points daily/weekly for these along with our weight loss, body fat loss and measurements lost. Honestly I found this as the best way to kick start my way into losing weight. I wouldn’t suggest everyone try to lose the amount of weight I lost in that amount of time. I feel I did it in a very healthy way without starving myself and by doing some hard cardio work each week.

Over the next few posts I’ll go over more details my nutrition and exercise.

I would suggest if you’re going to lose weight do it with a partner or a few partners. Talk your office or your family into a little competition. This was probably the best motivation I had, along with making it for 90 days. There was something about doing it for this long that really broke me through many of the times I would have just found myself back in the same place.

I set some high goals for the contest. My goal was 50 pounds. I wanted something I was gonna work extremely hard for knowing I might not achieve but that if I went for it I’d lose a lot.

So set a goal and compete with others to kick start your weight loss. I am trying to figure out how we might could set up some Revolution You Fitness Competitions. Would you like something like that?

About Jason Curlee

Jason is about inspiring, transforming and elevating others to make a difference in their world. He writes to share principles of leadership and insights that you can apply to your ministry, business and life. You can read more from him @ http://jasoncurlee.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Fitness, My Weight Loss Revolution and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Weight Loss Revolution Part 3

  1. Pingback: My Weight Loss Revolution Part 1 | Revolution You

Leave a Reply

