My Weight Loss Revolution 5

So we’ve talked about some of the tools we used on our journey. Now let’s talk about diet.

  • Water. For the 90 days my intake was lots and lots of water. In fact, every day I consumed half my body weight in ounces of water. Starting out this was sooooooo hard. I had to consume about 140 ounces of water. I can tell you with that amount of water, you don’t want to consume any other liquids. Most of the time I did flavor my waters with Crystal Light packets.
  • Soda’s. GONE….since May 1st and through the whole 90 days I had NO soda’s. Not even a sip. Mainly cause I was consuming so much water and I didn’t want to drink anything else. No diet soda’s, no zero cola’s…nothing.
  • Food. As I stated in my tools I used myfitnesspal.com. With that app the goal I set was to lose 2 pounds per week. At the beginning that meant I could eat around 1,900 calories a day as a minimum. As I lost weight that went down to around 1,700 calories. Starting out I would try to hit around that 1,900 calories with my total calories consumed. As the contest was ending I was actually consuming around 1,300 calories. I will highly stress this. You don’t want to go under 1,200 calories a day. Your body NEEDS those calories and if you don’t consume enough your body will go into starvation mode. If your exercising and doing cardio work outs consume those calories.
  • Quality of Food. We did clean up our food BUT did no kind of special “diet”. No all protein or weird dieting. We would do lower fat foods. We moved to more whole wheat breads. And we stayed pretty much in the recommends on myfitnesspal on the carbs/fats/proteins for the day. I did cut out sugars and sweets except for the odd once a week cheat meals. Coming down to the end month I didn’t allow myself any cheat days. We also swapped out our milk for Almond milk…this will surprise you, it is good if you’ve never had it. You can find many of the recipes we used here.
  • Fast Food. We swapped to Subway and lots of Subway. I feel like I own stock in Subway over the last few months. It is much easier to eat more amounts of food when they are healthy calories than less food that is high in calories so you have to eat less portions. Myfitnesspal was another huge help in this cause you can plug in lots of meals from restaurants to get the calories for your meals. You can find some low cal alternatives and control your portions when you are out.

So if I were gonna give you advice here is what I’d tell you.

  1. Log in ALL your food daily. This will be EYE OPENING.
  2. Swap to WATER. Half your body weight in ounces of water. If it helps flavor it.
  3. Clean up your diet. Cut the sweets. Use 100% whole wheat. Lower in fat foods. Use some of these recipes.
  4. Don’t have too FEW calories. Get in at least 1,200 and hit around your goal food calories on myfitnesspal for the day. Then exercise to burn some of them.
  5. Cut out the FAST FOOD. It’s so easy to just go to Subway and train yourself to eat differently.

It’s hard at first especially if you’ve trained yourself bad like I did for many years BUT…you can do it if your willing. Check out the beginning of the series to read my whole journey.

About Jason Curlee

Jason is about inspiring, transforming and elevating others to make a difference in their world. He writes to share principles of leadership and insights that you can apply to your ministry, business and life. You can read more from him @ http://jasoncurlee.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in My Weight Loss Revolution, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Weight Loss Revolution 5

  1. Pingback: My Weight Loss Revolution Part 1 | Revolution You

  2. Pingback: My Weight Loss Revolution Part 6 | Revolution You

  3. Pingback: 3 Guaranteed Ways To Lose Weight | Revolution You

Leave a Reply

